The Name Game

I really struggled coming up with a name for this blog.  When I was thinking about starting my own, I would look over all those listed on blog rolls like Stirrup Queen’s List of Blogs and be impressed and more than a little cowed by the creativity I saw when it came to blog titles.   I confess I probably would have started this blog sooner if it weren’t for the major blog name block.  Finally, as these things typically happen, I had my burst of inspiration when I least expected it…  on a conference call with a co-worker who was driving me up the wall.  (One shouldn’t necessarily correlate the fact that I work in HR with me being a people person.)   As I was on the phone trying to keep my frustration from coming through, I mentally started singing an old childhood standby to myself – The Patience Song.  This is a song from a children’s CD called The Music Machine, which has great little songs about joy, peace, love, and my nemesis – patience.   The song is sung by a father snail – Herbert – to his son and goes thusly:

Have patience, have patience, don’t be in such a hurry

When you get impatient, you only start to worry.

Remember, remember that God is patient too,

And think of all the times when others have to wait for you.

As my sister and I have grown into adulthood, we’ve both developed a charming tendency (at least we think so) to sing the song to our mother and respective husbands anytime a gentle reminder is needed.  I’ve also been known to sing it myself – hence the rendition mid conference call – to try to bolster my highly limited patience reserves.  This time, however, as I mentally went through the lyrics it struck me how related this is to dealing with infertility, which is an incredible test of one’s patience and ability to wait for answers, for understanding, for meaning, and to keep a hope and spirit going in the face of that wait.  Thus, a name was born.

4 Responses

  1. Here from Lost and Found…

    OMG! Herbert! I haven’t heard anybody mention him or sing the song since 2nd grade!

    “When Herbert was much younger, he always got in trouble
    Forgetting that he was a snail he did things on the double
    He’d crash through every spiderweb and with crickets he’d collide…”

    The fuming beetles image cracks me up too. Thanks for the trip down Memory Lane.

    Great choice of a blog name!!! Patience is an amazing asset for IF.

  2. I love that you know Herbert! My sister and I played that Music Machine record until the thing wore out…along with my mom’s last nerve I’m sure. I was also thrilled to get a comment from you as your blog is one of the ones I’ve been following since I first realized I was part of this reluctant but amazing community. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Thats a very nice poem, I havent ever heard of Herbert but It sounds like something I would want my future kids to know, very creative coming up with that

  4. Here from ICLW by the way 🙂

Leave a comment